Parliamentary Resolution approving WTO Accession 
The National Parliament, in an ordinary plenary session, on June 3, 2024, approved Proposed Resolution No. 3/VI (1st) - Ratification of the Accession Protocol of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste (RDTL) to the World Organization of Commerce (WTO), with 33 votes in favor, 3 against and 18 abstentions.
Furthermore, a vote was held on Draft Resolution No. 41/VI (1st) on Attribution of Nationality to António José Garcia Sampaio, with 35 votes in favor, 15 against and 2 abstentions.
In this plenary session, the FRETILIN Parliamentary Bench presented a political declaration on the rise in the price of basic necessities on the market, even though the Government has outlined a policy of normalizing prices, so that the community has purchasing capacity.
Meanwhile, in various interventions, Deputies congratulated the children of Timor-Leste who celebrated International and National Children's Day, as the future of Timor-Leste;
Furthermore, Deputies suggested that the Government pay maximum attention to the health and education sectors, including infrastructure, which cause many concerns among citizens.
This plenary session was chaired by the President of the National Parliament, Maria Fernanda Lay, accompanied by the members of the Board, and was attended by the Vice-Prime Minister, Francisco Kalbuadi Lay, the Governor of the Central Bank of Timor-Leste, Helder Lopes, and the Vice-Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Adérito Hugo da Costa.
Have you found this information useful ?
Please share your feedback below and help us improve our content.